And one of those walk-ons, Steve Johnson, is a respectable athlete. A state high jump champion in high school, Johnson was also named first-team all-conference in basketball after averaging 18 points a game as a senior.

His hometown paper, the Colorado Springs Gazette, featured him October 21st.

Johnson admitted he still can’t believe he will wear the team uniform that has been worn by players such as Grant Hill and Christian Laettner.

“I don’t think it’s really set in yet,” he said. “I never would have thought that I would be in this position in my wildest dreams.”

His parents thought it was a dream.

“Sarah, did Steve tell us he made the Duke basketball team,” Roger Johnson asked his wife after waking up in the middle of the night.

“You know, honey, I think he did,” Sarah replied.

It didn’t take long for Steve and Sarah to spread the news.

“I guess we were in shock,” Sarah said. “We’re all just overwhelmed. It’s quite an honor and responsibility. It’s a responsibility because he’s got to keep his grades up and it’s a hard-enough school as it is.”

