This had been rumored before, but is now confirmed: N.C. State’s basketball team will be without its star big man Andrew Brackman in ’06-’07.

This isn’t necessarily the end of Brackman’s basketball career, however.

“I look at this basketball season as a redshirt year for me,” Brackman said in a statement. “My primary focus will be on playing baseball but I still consider myself part of the basketball program.”

Brackman said he will reconsider his decision to play basketball after the professional baseball draft in June.

“Playing professional baseball has been a big dream of mine ever since I was a little kid and that dream has a chance of coming true in June,” Brackman said. “Because of that I feel that the most important thing for me is to be as prepared mentally and physically as possible for the draft.”

