Mike Dunleavy, Jr., that is. The former Blue Devil star forward has been named a captain for the Golden State Warriors.

Don Nelson handpicked Dunleavy to be a team captain, along with Baron Davis and Jason Richardson, thereby thrusting the Warriors’ fifth-year forward into an unfamiliar leadership role.

“Anybody who has the ball in their hands a lot needs to be a leader,” Nelson said Tuesday after the first practice of training camp. “He’s going to be my point forward, and I think it’s important that he start to develop into that area.”

The captaincy is perhaps the clearest indication yet that the Warriors will count on Dunleavy as a playmaker rather than a producer this season. That suits him just fine after taking a step back in nearly every statistical category in 2005-06.

“The first thing I need to do is lead by example on the court, and obviously, the last few years, I haven’t been able to do that,” he said. “But I’m getting up there. I’m five years into the league now and I can help people.”

